Matt Humphrey Leads 2016 SHR Rock’N’Roll Poker Open $3,500 Championship Final 6

The Seminole Hard Rock Rock’N’Roll Poker Open $3,500 Championship is just several hours away from crowning its 2016 champion. Six players are to be marching towards Seminole Hard Rock in Hollywood, Florida, where they will be waited to unfold quality poker action and to battle for the attractive first-place payout of $564,227.

Apart from the prize money and the accolades that accompany every big poker champion, the winner will also scoop the tournament trophy to remember his accomplishment for the years ahead.

The $3,500 buy-in tournament commenced this weekend with two starting flights that drew 760 entries, a massive field by all standards. Texas-based poker pro Upeshka De Silva led action over Days 2 and 3 of the event. The player also maintained his momentum halfway through Day 4, until he confronted Matt Humphrey. They clashed for two big pots, the second of which secured Humphrey with the chip lead. The player retained his advantage until the end of the day.

To introduce the $3,500 Championship’s Day 4 chip leader, it should be said that he had previously won two WSOP Circuit gold rings, one of which in a $365 No-Limit Hold’em tournament and the other in a $500 Pot-Limit Omaha event. Humphrey has accumulated live tournament earnings of $419,001 over the years and has cashed in WSOP Circuit, WSOP, and other events multiple times.

Day 5 of the Rock’N’Roll Poker Open $3,500 Championship is set to commence at noon Florida time. The six remaining players will have to play down to a winner. Humphrey will start the final day with 8,575,000 in chips, well ahead of De Silva, who bagged 5,550,000 last night. Here are all finalists and their current stacks:

Matt Humphrey – 8,575,000
Upeshka De Silva – 5,550,000
Patrick Mahoney – 4,270,000
Mark Dube – 2,020,000
Billy Pilosssoph – 1,595,000
William Jennings – 756,000

Each of the six finalists is guaranteed a minimum payout of $109,440. Six-handed play will kick off with blinds at 50,000/100,000 with a 15,000 ante. Overall, the tournament was initially announced to feature a guaranteed prize pool of $2 million, and the amount of $2,432,000 was generated eventually. Payouts were distributed to the top 72 spots, min-cashes going from $7,053 upwards.

Jacob Bazeley won last year’s edition of the tournament. The player scooped a first-place prize of $568,687. The event attracted 766 entries in 2015 to create a prize pool of more than $2.4 million.

Related News

CasinoNewsDaily is a media focused on providing daily news from the casino industry as well as in-depth gaming guides. Our guides cover roulette, blackjack, slots and video poker.
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Reddit