Sandeep Vasudevan Wins $365 PLO Event at Harrah’s New Orleans

Sandeep Vasudevan emerged victorious in the fourth event of the Harrah’s New Orleans series after defeating more than 150 entrants and claiming the first-place prize of $12,314. The San Antonio resident won his second career WSOP ring after his first ring came with a win at the $365 No-limit Hold’em event at the Horseshoe Casino in Bossier City, Louisiana.

This is also the second time Vasudevan takes the first place at a WSOP tournament and the third time he takes part in a Pot-limit Omaha event. After a couple of third place finishes, however, he managed to survive the final table and claim the title. Starting Monday, May 14, the two-day $365 Buy-in PLO Re-Entry event attracted an entry field of 152 players and collected a total prize pool of $45,600. Only 18 poker players made to the money and after Jeremy Morrow was eliminated in 10th place, the final nine finalists continued to play to determine the next WSOP series winner.

The final table started with six-time ring winner John Holley as the chip leader, who lost some of his stack after a few hands. Tomer Mushin took the lead before the end of the evening, while Holley finished Day 1 eight in chips. Mushin had 303,000 in chips that put a good distance between him and the following entrants Sandeep Vasudevan (244,000) and Rebecca Campbell (220,000). Day 2 of the tournament started with 5,000/10,000 blinds and 45-minute long levels, while those who survived were guaranteed at least $1,097.

Jang Hong received the minimum prize when he finished 9th and the second player to leave the final table was Paul Cogliano (8th, $1,376). Sean Moore was next with a prize of $1,754, followed by Tomer Mushin (6th, $2,272) and Rebecca Campbell (5th, $2,994). Holley who was hoping to get the 7th WSOP ring in his career was eliminated next and banked $4,014 for his fourth place. When Clayton Bates finished in the 3rd position ($5,477), he left the Indian-born Sandeep Vasudevan and Mitchell Smith from Palm Beach, Florida, to face heads-up for the title. Vasudevan started with a nearly 2-to-1 chip lead but Smith quickly took it and after a long play, Vasudevan emerged victorious. He received the title and a cash prize of $12,314 while Smith took home $7,609 for his runner-up position.

Jeff Turton Leads the $365 NLH 6-Handed Re-Entry Final Table

The final stop of the 2017/2018 season of the World Series of Poker at Harrah’s New Orleans continues with the $365 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Handed Re-Entry event. It started Tuesday and when registration closed, a total of 336 players had bought in the tournament. They contributed to a prize pool of $100,800, which would be shared among the top 36 entrants with a minimum cash of $529. Staff at the casino estimate that the winner will walk away with a prize of $25,206.

By the end of Tuesday night, the final eight players were clear. Jeff Turton from Durham, North Carolina, held a massive chip lead over the rest of the players on the final table with 1,328,000 in chips. The next player in the chip count is David Holmes with 522,000, followed by four-time ring winner David Nicholson with 306,000, and Blake Whittington who had 234,000. Next came in circuit regular Jesse Capps who bagged 220,000, followed by Mike Azzaro with 197,000.

They return at the final table at 1.00 p.m. to play down to a winner with a minimum cash guaranteed of $2,821. The winner, promised a great prize of $25,206, is to be determined in the following hours when play for the $365 NLH 6-Handed Re-Entry event resumes at Harrah’s New Orleans.

Related News

CasinoNewsDaily is a media focused on providing daily news from the casino industry as well as in-depth gaming guides. Our guides cover roulette, blackjack, slots and video poker.
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Reddit